TNE Editor
/ Categories: Press Release

NSU men’s soccer with nine named to All-Conference Team

Published 11/9/17

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Nine Northeastern State men's soccer student-athletes were named All-MIAA with its announcement of All-Conference teams by league officials on Wednesday.
NSU junior Joe Garcia was a unanimous First Team selection by the MIAA Coaches after leading the conference in goals scored.  Garcia was a repeat First Team honoree and has been named All-Conference all three of his playing years. 
Aaron Ugbah joined Garcia on the MIAA First Team and scored three goals with four assists for the RiverHawks this last season. 
Half of the entire MIAA Second Team is made up of the NSU squad with six landing as honorees.   Ryan DavisJames DoyleIsmael SerratosJustin ToddTyler Walker, and Bailey Weeks were All-MIAA selections for the RiverHawks.  Following Wednesday's announcement, Todd and Weeks are both now two-time conference award winners.
Appearing on the honorable mention list was Andrew Galvan who paced the RiverHawks this season with 1626 minutes played.
A total of 28 student-athletes from each of the five programs that sponsor men's soccer in the MIAA were honored.
2017 All-MIAA Men's Soccer Team
Player of the Year
Derick Gonzalez, MF, Fort Hays State
Freshman of the Year
Michele Ganz, F, Lindenwood
Coach of the Year
Brett Parker, Fort Hays State
First Team
GK: Michael Yantz, Sr., Fort Hays State
D: Killian Gorman, Sr., Fort Hays State
D: Seth Russell, So., Upper Iowa
D: Luis Torres, Jr., Fort Hays State
D: Jeremy Tutas, Sr., Lindenwood
MF: Derick Gonzalez, Sr., Fort Hays State**
MF: Joe Garcia, Jr., Northeastern State**
MF: Gabriel Jaimes, Sr., Lindenwood
MF: Luis Mendez, So., Fort Hays State
F: Abdoulaye Cisse, Jr., Fort Hays State**
F: Ruairidh Crawford, Sr., Upper Iowa
F: Michele Ganz, Fr., Lindenwood**
F: Aaron Ugbah, So., Northeastern State
Results reflect ties in the voting
**Unanimous Selection
Second Team
GK: Ryan Davis, Sr., Northeastern State
GK: Connor Rortvedt, Sr., Upper Iowa
D: James Doyle, Fr., Northeastern State
D: Caesar Jones, Jr., Fort Hays State
D: Bailey Weeks, So., Northeastern State
MF: Marko Circo, So., Upper Iowa
MF: Italo Martin-Soares, Fr., Upper Iowa
MF: Tobias Patino, Jr., Fort Hays State
MF: Ismael Serratos, Sr., Northeastern State
MF: Tyler Walker, So., Northeastern State
F: Raul Fierro, Jr., Fort Hays State
F: Justin Todd, Jr., Northeastern State
Honorable Mention
Northeastern State: Andrew Galvan, D
Southwest Baptist: Alberto Rodriguez, MF
Upper Iowa: Cameron Bosacki, D
Previous Article NSU women’s basketball opens 2017-18 season with MIAA/GAC Challenge
Next Article NSU men’s basketball opens season with a 61-50 loss at Northwestern Oklahoma
53 Rate this article:
No rating

Please login or register to post comments.

  Press Releases



Terms Of Use | Privacy Statement